By-polls elections in 8 Punjab constituencies (2 NA, 6 PP) today

By-polls elections in 8 Punjab constituencies  (2 NA, 6 PP) today

Results of By-Election of Dec 4, 2012 will be Published here
Lahore (Tuesday, November 4, 2012) – All is set for the holding of by-elections for two National Assembly and six provincial assembly seats in six districts of Punjab amid tight security today (Tuesday), as the Election Commission of Pakistan has decided to deploy Rangers for smooth polling.

By-Elections in Punjab on 4th Dec 2012

The ECP spokesman said the decision to call in Rangers was taken in the wake of fear about possible rigging in votes. A total of 66 candidates are contesting two National Assembly and six provincial assembly seats in the by-election, which is being considered a real test for the major political parties to prove their might in Punjab before the upcoming general elections.

The by-elections are being held in following constituencies:

Gujrat NA-107

NA-107 Gujrat Constituency Map

Sahiwal NA-162

NA-162 Sahiwal Constituency Map

Jhelums PP-25
Gujranwala PP-92
Sialkot PP-122 and PP-129
Narowal PP-133 
Sahiwal PP-226 

Candidates contesting for National and Punjab Assembly Seats

NA-107, Gujrat-4, 12 candidates are in the race. Major contenders are PML-Q-PPP joint candidate Rehman Naseer Chaudhary and PML-N contestant Muhammad Hanif Malik.

A total of 11 candidates are vying to grab NA-162, Sahiwal-3. The major contenders are Chaudhry Zahid Iqbal of PML-N, Rai Hassan Nawaz, independent contender but associated with PTI and PPP-PML-Q joint contestant, Mehr Muhammad Ali Farid Kathiya.

Six candidates are in the race for PP-26, Jhelum-III, PML-Q-PPP jointly fielded, Muhammad Arif, from this constituency, while PML-N awarded the ticket to a non-party man due to differences among the central, provincial and local leaders.
Raja Muhammad Afzal is contesting the by-polls with the blessing of PML-N high command whereas Chaudhry Khadim Hussain, another PML-N leader, is also in the race with the support of the provincial leadership. According to local leaders, prominent groups of the PML-N are expected to back Raja Afzal.

A total of 12 contenders are in the field for PP-92, Gujranwala-II. The main contestants are PPP-PML-Q jointly fielded, Lala Asad Ullah Papa, and PML-N’s Muhammad Nawaz Chohan.

PML-N has fielded an exporter-turned-politician Chaudhry Muhammad Ikram, who belongs to the Araayin clan, in PP-122 (Sialkot II), which consists mostly of urban areas. It may be mentioned here that the said clan has had a significant political say in the area. On the other hand, the PPP has fielded Raja Aamir Khan, another business tycoon and party’s provincial information secretary. Although there are five candidates, the real contest is between candidates of the PPP and PML-N.

Chaudhary Ansar Iqbal Baryar, PML-Q and PPP joint candidate, and Chaudhry Mohsin Ashraf of PML-N are among the six candidates in PP-129, Sialkot-9.

Four candidates are contesting the by-election for PP-133, Narowal-II. The major contenders are Chaudhry Umar Sharif Ahmed, joint candidate of PML-Q and PPP and Dr Naimat Ali Javed of PML-N.

Major candidates from PP-226, Sahiwal-7, are Nasim Iqbal as PML-Q and PPP joint candidate and PML-N’s Muhammad Hanif. In addition, eight independent contenders are also in the run.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.