Election Commission stopped PTI contesting by-polls in 4 constituencies (PP-23, PS-81, PK-54 and PK-62)

Election Commission  bar Tehreek e Insaf  from contesting by-polls in four constituencies (PP-23, PS-81, PK-54 and PK-62)

ISLAMABAD (Dunya News Breaking News / Monday, April 3, 2017) – Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday has barred Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) from contesting by-polls in four constituencies.
ECP issued this order after PTI failed in conducting intra-party elections in the prescribed time. Moreover, ECP has slapped ban of two months on the conduction of intra-party elections.
The constituencies included Punjab’s PP-23 Chakwal, Sindh’s PS-81 Sanghar, PK-54 Mansehra and in Kohistan’s PK-62.
The by-election in :-

  1. PP-23 Chakwal is scheduled on April 18,2017.
  2. PS-81 Sanghar on April 20, 2017.
  3. PK-54 Mansehra on 10th May 2017.
  4. PK-62 Kohistan will witness the by-polls on May 10, 2017.

Meanwhile, sources have revealed that PTI is going to challenge this decision in Islamabad High Court (IHC) as PTI chairman has directed legal aides to prepare petition in this regard.
Petition will pledge IHC to declare ECP’s decision illegal and unconstitutional.

Leave a Reply