Friday , February 22 2019
Home / Sports / Peace Cup T20 Match Peshawar 2013

Peace Cup T20 Match Peshawar 2013

PTI government successfully organize a T20 cricket match between Pakistan Peace XI and KPK Peace XI in Arbab Niaz Stadium Peshawar. This Peace Cup T20 enthralled thousands of spectators who had arrived to see their favorites battle it out. The match in which different former and current Pakistani cricket starts took part, was dedicated to Peace in the KPK Province and throughout the country. The stadium was jam packed with about 24000 cricket fans who cheered for each and every ball of the match.

Peace T20 Match Peshawar 15

Pakistan Peace XI Team Squad:

Abdul Qadir(Captain), Shahid Afridi, Yasir Hameed, Kamran Akmal, Rana Naveed, Muhammad Irfan, Shoaib Malik, Hammad Azam, Umar Gul, Shabbir Ahmad, Nasir Jamshed, Anwar Ali, Wajahat Ullah Wasti, Rao Iftikhar, Moin Khan.

KPK Peace XI Team Squad:Inzam-ul-Haq(Captain), Imran Nazir, Ahmad Shahzad, Muhammad Yousaf, Ijaz Ahmad, Salim Malik, Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Khalid Latif, Sohail Tanveer, Mushtaq Ahmad, Shoaib Akhtar, Umer Amin, Rashid Latif, Manzoor Elahi.
Peace Cup T20 Match Scorecard

K-P Peace XI skipper Inzamamul Haq won the toss and elected to bat first. Openers Imran Nazir and Shazab Hassan began the match with some fantastic strokes which had the crowd on its feet. Salim Malik, a former national player, scored the highest number of runs -51 – from his side. He was followed by Shazab Hassan with 46, Muhammd Yousaf with 37, and Imran Nazir with 27 runs. The team scored a total of 180 runs with the loss of six wickets.

Pakistan Peace XI’s Shahid Afridi and Abdul Razzak took two wickets each, while Fawad Alam and Muhammad Khalil took one each.

In the second innings, Pakistan XI openers Yasir Hamid and Khalid Latif started off with a slow batting pace but Muhammad Rizwan came to the crease and hit a few boundaries.

However, the crowd’s interest peaked when the fastest century scorer in the world Shahid Afridi came face to face with the fastest bowler in the world, former cricketer Shoaib Akhtar. Afridi played a stunning innings with seven sixes and five fours.

From the cheers Afridi drew, it seemed the crowd had specifically come to see the fiery batting Shahid Afridi is renowned for and the cricketer did not disappoint – one of his shots broke the window of the VIP Lounge close to the pavilion.

Pakistan XI won the match with four wickets in hand. Afridi scored the winning runs with a six. He was also the highest scorer for his side with 66 runs, followed by Muhammad Rizwan with 54 and Fawad Alam with 44 runs.

Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, Information Minister Shah Farman and various MPAs attended the match while PTI chief Imran Khan was the chief guest.

Speaking at the closing ceremony, Imran Khan announced the K-P government would build a sports stadium in every tehsil of every district and a talent hunt programme would also be launched in the province and the tribal areas.

Khan said players from K-P will make the national team stronger. “Many national players, including Shoaib Akhtar and Shahid Afridi, were selected during the talent hunt programmes. The provincial government will soon start such a programme for under-17 players,” Imran said.

About Imran Ahmad

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.