Sunday , February 17 2019
Home / Sports / President ODI Cup 2013 Goes To SNGPL

President ODI Cup 2013 Goes To SNGPL

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) proved their superiority in Pakistan’s domestic cricket on Friday when they beat WAPDA by 32 runs to lift the President’s Cup at the National Stadium Karachi.

President Cup SNGPL

Asad Ali’s pace and Yasir Shah’s leg break bowling ensured WAPDA were never really able to threaten SNGPL, who had posted 283 for eight in 50 overs, after being asked to bat first, on the back of an excellent start provided by Test openers Muhammad Hafeez and Taufeeq Umar.

SNGPL openers Mohammad Hafeez (58) and Taufeeq Umar (79) laid a strong foundation by putting up a 125-run stand before Pakistan’s Twenty20 captain departed for 58. Khurram Shehzad scored  42 while Misbah made a run-a-ball 34 to ensure their side ended up with a fighting total.

Wapda had heavily relied on their top order en route to the final but their batsmen failed to deliver. Mohammad Ayub Doggar top-scored with 66.

Asad Ali, who was named the man of the match and the best bowler of the tournament, claimed four scalps.

About Imran Ahmad

One comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.